Becoming an Ethical Hacker – Week 1

Week 1 – Google Hacking and Port Scanning

My first week of ethical hacking is done and it was a great week!  I spent 9 hours working on scanning and reconnaissance.  As I mentioned in my post, Investing a Year in Ethical Hacking, my goal is to spend 416 hours learning ethical hacking this year.  Current progress: 9 / 416.

For anybody else studying CEH (or anything else), I hope this shows you that even little investments of time can result in huge improvements when done consistently over time.

slow

Google Hacking

Google “hacking” is a great starting point even though it isn’t actually hacking at all.  It is amazing how much OSINT (Open Source Intelligence) is out there.  I searched myself to start off and even found some old forum posts of mine from years ago that I had forgotten about!

 

Catching Phishers with Google?

Here is just one example of the fun you can have while learning search terms.  I was really excited when I stumbled on what looked like a phishing page.  Keep reading to see what happened.

Continue reading

