A Year of Ethical Hacking – Day 1

Becoming a Certified Ethical Hacker, Day 1

OK…I cheated.  I started early on CEH by reading a little and skimming some videos, but my 416-hour goal stands.

Current progress:  0 of 416 hours.

newyear2

What should I do first?

Every goal has to start with a plan right?  I explained in my first post of this series that the goal is to Earn the Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) certification.  I also explained why I think it is important.  In the second post of this series, I detailed the tools that I think will contribute to success in becoming a Certified Ethical Hacker.  Now I have to get a strategy together to actually work through this material in some orderly way.  Detours are fine but, without a plan, I’ll waste a lot of time just trying to decide what to do next.

This is my typical 5-step approach.

  1. Run through all the material quickly via video training to get a broad understanding of the entire scope of the course.
    • Edit:  I am going deep with the videos rather than moving quickly this time to get the maximum hands-on experience.
  2. Read a book cover-to-cover while taking notes and practicing in the lab.
  3. Detour and repeat as needed to get comfortable.
  4. Take practice tests and focus on memorization.
  5. Earn CEH!  Take & pass the exam and become a Certified Ethical Hacker.

 

That’s it.  Time to stop posting and get to work!

Follow my progress here, on Twitter @Dconsec, or on Facebook @Dconsec

Are you working on CEH with me?  I would love to hear about it in the comments below.